IIT Roorkee

Although the conversion of the University of Roorkee to IIT Roorkee happened in 2001, becoming the seventh institute in the IIT system, the engineering college was first established in 1847 (Thomason College of Engineering, making it the oldest engineering institution in Asia.

IITR has 21 academic departments scattered over its 2 campuses in Roorkee and Saharanpur. Apart from the Engineering departments, there are 3 sciences departments, a humanities department and even a School of Management (DoMS). The campus boasts modern infrastructure including a state of the art library, 2 lecture hall complexes, auditoriums, convocation hall and other recreational buildings.

IITR has some of the best sports facilities including a football pitch, hockey field, cricket ground, athletics track, tennis, basketball, squash and badminton courts, swimming pool, weights room and gym.